Teaser Tuesdays / It’s Tuesday, where are you?

teasertuesdays

Just quote a couple of spoiler-free sentences the book you’re reading to tempt other readers.

Here is mine:-

“I shall not forget the sight of him as we left, that picture stays strong with me: his figure still and straight on the wide shore, the land huge and bare about him, the snowy dip of the valley at his back, the mountains on either side, twin peaks they were of seemingly identical height, rising steep and smooth and streaked with grey as if in some strange reversal the rock were ashes that had been poured down to the earth from heaven; the sea a darkened pewter and having that sluggishness to its movement that comes from when it is heavy with the beginnings of ice. In all God’s earth, from the tip of Africa to the Indies or the wide Pacific, a man may never see a sight so lonely.”

Teaser Tuesdays is hosted by MizB

tuesdaywhereareyou

It is August 1616 and I am aboard the Heartsease.We have been on a whaling trip high into the Arctic, and now we must return home before the ice closes in. But we have left a man behind. Thomas Cave made a wager that he would stay, alone, until the next season. It is madness. Surely no no man could survive a winter so far north in such terrible conditions…

It’s Tuesday, where are you? is hosted by raidergirl3.

This all comes courtesy of The Solitude of Thomas Cave by Georgina Harding.

Highly recommended!

13 responses

  1. What an interesting premise! What a scary think to do. I’d like to know his story, so I look forward to your review.

  2. Beautiful descriptive writing in the teaser sentences. Thomas does sound mad to me. I can’t imagine there is a happy ending to this story.

  3. How come my memories are never that crystal clear with details? How nice it would be to have them like that – unless of course they were lonely ones like this – those could haunt you forever.

  4. This book sounds fascinating, great choice for a teaser!
    I also wanted to let you know that I love this blog, and I have nominated you for a Lemonade Award. Check out my blog for more info!

Leave a comment