Teaser Tuesdays / It’s Tuesday, where are you ?

teasertuesdays

Just quote a couple of spoiler-free sentences the book you’re reading to tempt other readers.

Here is mine:-

“You foul mannered, ugly old barrel,” she said loudly and distinctly, “how dare you speak to me like that!”. She hadn’t meant to say this: the words had just come. But they were out now, and Jane suddenly felt very much better.

Teaser Tuesdays is hosted by MizB

tuesdaywhereareyou

Hello, I’m Jane. This morning I was at work, at Mayfair Modes. But I was rude to a customer and so it seemed wise to resign before I was sacked. It felt wonderful and I am so glad to be out of there. You should have seen the faces! Now though I have no references and very little money. But I’ll worry about that after the weekend. As I was making my grand exit from the shop I bumped into Gerry. She saw it all and she decided that, as I was a free woman, I should come with her to Alderley for a house-party. We’re on our way now. There’s a very strange mix of people coming,  so I could be in for quite a weekend!

It’s Tuesday, where are you? is hosted by raidergirl3.

This all comes courtesy of The Affair of the Bloodstained Egg Cosy by James Anderson.

17 responses

  1. Your teasers are great. I felt the sense of freedom that came from telling off the customer and quitting and then out of town to a party. I wanted to say: Good for you! The book sounds fun.

  2. I’ve had this experience before, and felt the same freedom from quitting. I have to say, I never regretted it either. Exerting one’s own independence is rarely a bad thing.

    Meanwhile, my own teaser is at Bookishgal.

  3. Best. Quote. Ever. I read that book years ago, and truly enjoyed it. That quote has stuck with me for twenty years, and often have I wanted to use it.

    Thanks for the smile!

Leave a comment