Teaser Tuesdays / It’s Tuesday, where are you ?

teasertuesdays

Just quote a couple of spoiler-free sentences the book you’re reading to tempt other readers.

Here is mine:-

“I was surprised on my arrival here to find so many of the dwellings still inhabited. Surprised, too, and disappointed to see so great a number of buildings where I had expected only a few, and those empty and awaiting the water..”

Teaser Tuesdays is hosted by MizB

tuesdaywhereareyou

I am Charles Weightman. I have come to the north of England, to Forge Valley, to oversee its flooding. It is going to be a difficult job. People are unwilling to leave, unwilling to listen, unwilling to accept the inevitable. I wonder just what I have let myself in for?

It’s Tuesday, where are you? is hosted by raidergirl3.

This all comes courtesy of Gathering The Water by Robert Edric

I was caught by a beautiful cover and then hooked by the subject matter – a valley being cleared to make way for a reservoir.

12 responses

  1. I came over from The Indextrious Reader and was pleased to see you mention this book, which I finished recently (and posted about on my own blog). I thought some of his writing was superb.

Leave a comment