Demobbed by Alan Allport

What happened in Britain when the war ended? Victory speeches? Street parties? Then life went back to normal?

Yes, yes and no. For so many people things had changed and the pieces didn’t fit back together.

Many men came home to find wives who had thought that they would never return. Who had been unfaithful, wives who had changed as they had to work, as they had to cope with the consequences of war on the home front. Children didn’t know their fathers, and were nervous of these strange men, upset at the changes to their routine.

“Blighty is proud of and grateful to, its fighting men, but its civilian population has had its share of war and privations. It therefore dos not care for the loud protestation of some of the Forces men who expect priority in travel, plentiful leave, good food, pleasant accommodation after the war and an assured job.”

Could either side really understand the other?

The country fit for heroes wasn’t quite ready. It had been impoverished by the war, homes and communities had been devastated by bombing, and rationing was to continue for a great deal longer.

How do you cope with a dull civilian job after fighting a war? Maybe a job you never expected to return to. With an employer who didn’t expect or really want you back? Many couldn’t cope, and returned to the forces.

And maybe above all there was post traumatic stress. Unrecognised and largely untreated.

Most eventually put their lives back together, but many couldn’t.

Alan Allport’s book paints a compelling picture of all of this. Through contemporary reports, through archive material and though striking first-hand testimonies.

It’s not a book to pick over and analyse, but a book to say what it’s about, and whether it’s done well. I hope I’ve done the fomer, and the answer to the latter is a very firm yes.

It is a book to break your heart, and a book that should be compulsory reading.

And a book that raises an important question: How much has really changed?

15 responses

  1. I bought this for my Dad for Christmas, based on Elaine’s (Random) recommendation and sneakily had a little dip into it before wrapping it up. It seemed to be eloquently written, very poignant subject matter and I liked the way he brings up questions about how we handle the demob process now so that this history has relevence to the present. I find some non-fiction WW2 reading really enhances my understanding of English fiction of that era in general and novels dealing with WW2 in particular. Thanks for your lovely review.

    • You couldn’t have put it better. I have a couple of novels from the period lined up and I think this book will influence my response to them – and definitely for the better.

  2. This one has definitely interested me. I don’t think much has changed in regards to what the soldier comes home to…wives are still unfaithful, angry about being left alone, children getting to know a stranger, PSTD….sounds like a must read.

  3. This sounds absolutely brilliant. I read a lot about life on the home front through the sort of mid century women’s writing I tend to favour, but I have never read something that explores the return of the soldiers and their reintegration into everyday life. I can imagine this book is fascinating and very moving; I hope my library has it because I would love to read it.

  4. Hi, visiting from Verity’s Virago Venture, and just loving your general taste and reviews. And then I see you are doing the Orange Prize Challenge, which I set myself some time last year and then recently discovered the blog devoted to it. Have just finished ‘The Voluptuous delights of peanut butter and jam’, which I was wonderful.
    anyway, thanks for sharing
    martine

  5. i was lucky enough to get a copy of this via Dovegreyreader before Christmas and have been meaning to read it ever since as it fits in very well with my current reading of a lot of 2nd World War books.
    Your post has given me the nudge. Thanks

  6. I have had my eye on this book since I first saw it – maybe on Dovegreyreader. I have checked the library system and there is currently only two copies in Australian libraries at present. I was considering buying it in hardback but I will see if I can hold out for the paperback copy 🙂

Leave a comment