A Year in First Lines

Jasper Farm by Jo March: Inspiration for my first line in March …

I wasn’t inspired to write about a book, I couldn’t quite work out how to construct my best books of the year post, but I remembered a  nice meme I did this time last year:

“Take the first line of each month’s post over the past year and see what it tells you about your blogging year.”

It’s an idea that started with  The Indextrious Reader and it’s an interesting way to look back at a year.

So here goes …

December

“I have enjoyed Susan Hill’s Simon Serailler crime novels for many reasons.”

from A Question of Identity by Susan Hill

November

“How lovely it is to fall into the hands of a natural storyteller, who tells her story with such lovely and well-chosen words and with such understanding of every element of her story.

from The Cleaner of Chartres by Salley Vickers

October

“It begins beside a swimming pool, in America, not long after the war has ended.”

from From Tigers in Red Weather by Lisa Klaussman

September

“I wasn’t at all sure that Victoria Holt was my sort of author, but I had to give a gothic romance set in Cornwall the benefit of the doubt.

from Mistress of Mellyn by Victoria Holt

August

“My 20th Century Reading Project continues to roll along..”

from 10% Report: Reading the 20th Century

July

“And not just any sock – a sock that I have handknitted!.”

from We have a Sock!

June

“Hello! It’s me – Briar!

from A Dog Blogs: A Fledgling’s Misadventure

May

“A is for Another Time, Another Life by Leif G W Persson.”

from An A to Z, at the Start of Another Month

April

“I can still remember where I first met Elizabeth Taylor.

from Elizabeth Taylor and I

March

“My local second-hand book dealer has, like many others in these difficult times, branched out into other areas.”

from A Wonderful Artist Who Shares Her Name With a Literary Heroine

February

“Oh dear.”

from Finders Keepers by Belinda Bauer

January

“It feels like the right thing to do on the first day of a new year …..”

from Time to Look Ahead, With an A to Z

So there you have it: books, knitting and a border terrier!

And a liking for lists … and I think while I’ve been looking back I’ve worked out how to do my year end list … watch this space!

10 responses

  1. A good way to look at the year, trouble is my first post of each month is the round up of the month before! I’m still working on my post for the books of 2012.

  2. What an interesting way to look back at the year. I would try it myself but I would have the same problem as Jo…most of my first posts of the month were just monthly summary posts.

  3. That painting is glorious, and not only her name is literary, but the image immediately put me in mind of Mary Webb’s House in Dormer Forest, perhaps because of the “Jasper”?

    Nice to see your yearly first lines…they are very bookish! And February’s is particularly intriguing…

  4. Pingback: 2012 in First Lines « Annabel's House of Books

Leave a comment