Teaser Tuesdays / It’s Tuesday Where Are You?

tuesdaywhereareyou

It is 1940 and I am in London. The war started quietly but now the Germans are dropping bombs and we have to go down to the shelter every night. I don’t know what to do about my daughter. Should I let her be evacuated to the country? There are only the two of us and I have to earn a living and hold on to our home, so I couldn’t go with her. I can’t bear to part with her, but what if I keep her with me and something happens? The shelter rocked last night and we were so scared. I think I have to let her be evauated. I have to keep her safe, don’t I?

It’s Tuesday, where are you? is hosted by raidergirl3.

teasertuesdays

Just quote a couple of spoiler-free sentences the book you’re reading to tempt other readers.

Here is mine:-

“At this time of the morning, with an hour or more to go before the shops opened and the office staffs assembled, there were few people about on the streets and most of them were solitary women in their oldest clothes. Unconscious guardians of London’s morale, the cleaners went as usual to their work.”

Teaser Tuesdays is hosted by MizB

This all comes courtesy of Doreen by Barbara Noble.

13 responses

  1. I never heard of this either but it certainly sounds interesting. For some weird reason, I like books set in WWII. The women always seem indomitable and do what needs doing.

    Here is mine

  2. I am back and must say that you should get a bad blogger point because I was so taken with your book choice that I actually went to Amazon and was compelled to buy it. Only problem…it isn’t released here in the states but a used site on amazon had one–yes, just ONE was to be found and I snatched it up. A hardcover no less!! 🙂
    I am really looking forward to it–thanks for the teaser today.
    *smiles*
    Kim

Leave a comment